I Bought An Impreza ! But Is It A Dog?

Hello all

I am new to this site, just picked up MY96 classic import for £1400. I offered the guy £1500 but he gave me £100 off to get some road tax on his own accord (what a nice guy?).

i repair laptops for a living and am a novice with cars.

The guy who i got my impreza from in clydebank told me that the car had been sitting for 6 months and not driven, because it had some issues and he couldnt afford to sort them out. So now hes replaced the radiator, and turbo and something else that i cant remember to do with the radiator and turbo maybe air pump ? and that the radiator needs to be bled.

the problems with the car i can report so far are

1. the engine temperature goes up to near maximum and the check engine light comes on

2. steam seems to be coming out of the coolant lid and bubbling( passenger side at the very front of the car)

3. oil burning from the turbo area (the guy said it had just been changed and was burning off)

4. the breaks dont work very well and makes a horrible noise when slowing down, the guy said the back pads had just been done and gave me pads for the front. but the discs didnt look in great condition but i dont really know.

5. when i press the a/c button on the dash some loud noise comes from the engine area

6. the wiring for the passenger side headlight is dodgy and comes loose and the light goes out(same place as the coolant lid)

7. the spoiler break light isnt working right now and water is getting through into the boot.

I guess i need to bleed the radiator first. I read somewhere to turn the car on without the cap on, wait for it to bubble up or over and then top it up and close it ? and turn off the engine.

if anyone has any time to spare to give me some advice or help me out

thanks