Doing An Oil Change...

Ok, now that I am a past-master in graphics application ( :D ) I am going to attempt something a bit more technical - an oil change. Ha! I know the process is staright-forward > drain oil - remove filter - fill new filter and attach - fill engine - job done. BUT, were is a safe place to put the axel stands on the front of the car? Please can I have a picture of the car's underside with arrows pointing to the right bits, cuz I don't know the names! :P:blush:

Thanks!

John,

Oil change is not as straight forward as that, i am no expert but you need to pre fill oil filter before fitting,

then i am sure you then disconnect some plug which then allows you to turn engine over without it firing up.

sure there is a step by step guide on scoobynet

mark

Edited by scoobymark
* Floor jack

* Jack stands

* Wheel chock, or something to block the wheels

* Block of wood (small piece of 2x4 works well)

1) First engage the parking brake.

2) Block the wheels on the opposite end of the car. I've used a block of wood here.

whl_blk2.jpg

3) Roll the floor jack under the front of the car. The jacking plate is behind the oil pan. Raise the jack.

frt_jack.jpg

4) There are notches on each side of the car, just behind the mud flaps. These are used as the jacking points for the small scissors jack which comes with the car. Since you don't want to bend anything in this area, choose a point slightly in front of these notches to place the jack stands.

f_point1.jpg

5) Place both stands under the frame, and lower the jack slowly.

f_point2.jpg

6) Verify that the car is stable on the stands before working under the car. You can leave the jack in place, but never rely on just the jack to support the car. When you're done working on the front of the car, use the front jacking point to raise it back up, and remove the jack stands.

7) The procedure for lifting the rear of the car is similar. Make sure the parking brake is engaged.

8) Block the front wheels.