Knock Hill

Ok all you knock hill pros I have just watched some of the vids on you tube and think I would like to have a go just need some advise I have never done a track day before and will prob b slow and not that shoure what to take lol and would it b best to wate till better wether or dose that mater for newbies to track days lol

The knockhill sidc track days are excellent for all levels of driver skills. I have been to a few in the past albeit as a passenger but the drivers skills have varied. As long as you are aware of what's going on around you then you will be fine. It used to be that if you had the right hand indicator on and kept to the side people knew you were either on a cool down lap or having a slow lap and respected that. Am sure this is still the case and one of the regulars can confirm or correct. In terms of what to take make sure you have a comfy pair of driving shoes and if you don't have a helmet you can hire one there.

Knockhill do private sessions where you can go out with an expert and they will give you advice on racing line if you prefer to do something like that prior to an sidc day or I think you can go out with experts at sidc days as well.

Am sure that if you haven't already had some pax laps with sidc guys then people will let you pax with them to get you used to what it's like during track time.

Hope this info helps.

Chris

Knockhill is a great starter track, tight to the left and pull right into the corners, and floor it, knochill is hard on your nearside tyres and brakes but you will be having so much fun you wont care, im hoping to get my hawk sorted out for next year with new droplinks and lowered, been round a fair few times on bike, skyline and classic

I always preferred knockhill in the rain. Less grip - more fun - less tyre damage. :)

I'm no pro, done a couple of SIDC days and a couple of trackscotland days there.

It doesn't matter if you are the fastest or the slowest, what matters is the fun you have out there.