How good is your mechanical knowledge ?

Is does my nut in that I am too afraid to tackle the most menial of tasks. It made me wonder how much most of the SIDC community know about their cars and their associated components ? From the Squirrel to those who never even look under the bonnet, from Cambeltown to Peterheid !

My knowledge has increased greatly ( w.r.t modding) but I wish I knew how gearboxes, diff's, brakes, steering racks etc work and the like....

Has anyone every been on night classes ? I would love to tackle the basic jobs but it's all down the confidence. I have huge respect for the likes of Wuz & Higgy who will tackle any job in their own garage. The risk of making an erse of these type of jobs is simply too high for me.....even changin' brakes pads - not exactly a job you want to c0ck up given the safety perspective !

Cal

well i love working on cars

i like you craved to no the ins and outs , so as my first job i was a mechanic and i qualified all three levels so i no most things like cambelts and the things you mentioned

but after a 4 years of working in cold garages only a year after qualfying i had to pack it up due to suffering server dermititus althought using the nessecery hand balm ang glove

very sad to stop working on motors but i still indulge in my own car repaires in fact i done my cambelt wen i bought my car

advise the classes if you can find some place to do it

cheers 

craig

Hey Cal

The isue of working on your own car is having a sound knowledge of mechanics as you have said , but it also comes in having confidance in your abbilaties.

I have been working on engines since i was 11 years old , my dad was always bringing me things home from work to take apart and possably fix.

I reebuilt my firse bike engine when i was 15 and it ran for two years before i blew it up. Halv the battle is having good tools  aswell.

I always watch people when they are working on cars and bikes as i can steel  ideas for my self.